Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Whewwwww!!!!


This picture shows why I am sooooo happy the Vikings didn't go after T.O. He is all about attitude and himself. Yes, he is a very good receiver who drops an average of 12 catchable balls a year. He is a pariah and would destroy the locker room. Good luck to the Bills...but then, they are much more desperate for help than the Vikings. They were smart and only gave him a 1-year deal.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Huge Loss For Vikings!


I can't believe the Vikings let Matt Birk go. I didn't see any of the details on the difference in money between the Vikes and the Ravens. For some reason he wanted a change in scenery. I loved Birk, thought he was a real asset to the team and probably the best center in the league. It will be tough replacing him and now we have another hole in our offensive line. Some interesting changes being made this year, but I don' like this one at all.

Saturday, February 28, 2009

We're Stepping Up!!


Now if this signing happens, this could be a great year. Wouldn't it be great to add a receiver like T.J. Houshmandzadeh to the roster? Maybe not a deep threat, but that is what Berrian is for. Housh is a big time possession guy along the way of a Chris Carter. We just haven't had much of a receiver corps for a few years and this could be a good thing. Let's hope that his visit to the Vikings turns into a signing.

Friday, February 27, 2009

One Happy Vikings Fan!!!!!


Today is a good day in my Vikings world!!! I am very happy they resigned Jim Kleinsasser! When I was stationed in Fargo, ND...yes, the Army exists there...he was still a stud at the University of North Dakota...tearing up the college turf. They talked about how this tight end had the speed of a wide receiver and hit like a Mack truck. When the Vikings signed him I was thrilled. But of course, they used him wrong. He had a couple of early dropped passes and they tried to make him an H-Back and made him a blocker, which is one of his better abilities. But the guy is awesome...and I think could be a feature tight end if used properly. This was a very smart resigning by the Vikings front office. Let this guy go in the flats and let him run over these defensive backs.

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

New Legs For Rosenfels


OK, though it is nice to see that the Vikings are trying to address the terrible quarterback situation we have, is Sage Rosenfels the right answer? Admittedly, he has not been on a team that could provide him the right protection or that had runners like we have. This may be what he needs to really be able to become a great quarterback. My only concern is that he is already 31, a bit old for a quarterback. Hold on...that is young for a Vikings QB isn't it? I hope he does come in and do a great job...at the very least, knock Jackson out of any chance at being the starter. If they can keep Ferotte, I would like to see the depth chart read...Rosenfels, Ferotte, Jackson.

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Michael Vick a Viking?


I saw the first rumors of a possible Michael Vick connection to the Vikings. Now, I don't condone what he did, obviously...but is it any worse than the player who gets in trouble for domestic violence but continues to play? Personally, I don't really care if he gets back in the NFL, life will be hard for him anyway, that will be his punishment until he gives others something else to talk about. I just hope that he is done with his stupid behavior. But just think of what Vick at QB for the Vikings could mean? I could readily swallow any bad taste he gives me when we started winning football games because we had a real QB. OK, just as I was willing to take Favre...you can officially put me down as being on the side of taking Vick if we can get him. Am I becoming that desperate as a Vikings fan?

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

SD Vikings?


I saw a forum string on Viking Update that had folks talking about how Zigi should move the Vikings to Sioux Falls. The arguments made sense, but I can't see that happening. Though it would not put them too far away from the fan base, there would be no real revenue and the NFL will never let them do it. It would be a great place though...no state income tax, etc. They also mentioned North Dakota...Fargo/Moorehead could maybe support them, but then what happens to the Fargo Dome? Maybe that would become part of the deal...the Bison would have a place to play. I vote for SD, but I am sure that if they ever did move, the NFL will make them go to LA.