Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Karma Sucks, Doesn't it Payton?

Ever since the early part of the 2009 NFC Championship Game I was saying that it looked like the Saints were trying to hurt Favre.  The number of late hits and cheap shots was far beyond what could have simply been championship game excitement.  After the shot pictured here, where Favre's ankle was crushed, I had an immediate dislike for Sean Payton.  I had heard that he had commented that they would take out Favre.  Now, it seems he was taken out instead.

When Payton got hit on the sidelines last year and hurt his knee, I felt a small sense of justice being dealt.  Now that he has been suspended for one year for his bounty program, all is good in the NFL world.  I have disliked the Saints ever since that day, now without him as their coach I can at least tolerate them this year.

All this won't get our game back, but it is nice to know that what I had been screaming at my TV that night was actually what was going on.

Enjoy your time off, Payton.  I know I will enjoy not seeing you on the sidelines for a year.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

What to do? What to do?

Draft day is coming soon and the Vikings still don't know where they are going to play next year.  Why do our off seasons always have to be so stressful?

To me, the Vikings couldn't have enough draft picks to fix all the holes they have on that team.  On offense, I would keep AP, Ponder, Harvin, Sullivan, and our Tight Ends.  On Defense I would keep Allen, Greenway, and fire everyone else!  Why can't we seem to find a defensive back who can play worth a crap?

I really think Ponder will be a good quarterback, maybe even exceptional, if we can give him the time to make those decisions and throws that he obviously has the talent to make.  When you give a quarterback just enough time to get away from center and then he is getting chased, you can't expect him to do anything for you.  He showed he  has the talent.

In free agency there are a couple of people we definitely need to stay away from.  One is Randy Moss, who plans on coming out of retirement.  I don't think the Vikings are dumb enough for that one again.  We also have no need for another Manning on the team.  Granted, this one is tons more talented than the last one we had, but he is damaged goods that, in my opinion, is a fool if he comes back to play.  I have heard Chester Taylor is available again.  We should have never let him go.  I say go get him back.  We could use that 3rd down threat again.

As always, I hold out hope that we will have a good season.  After last year, we really can't go much further down.  This year we have a full off season, so it should be better.  I will settle for a winning season this year.  I won't hold my breath for any sort of a title...not even a division one.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Oh the Shame....

It is not very often that I am able to watch a Minnesota Vikings game on TV out here on the East Coast, and this is one that I wished I hadn't been able to as well.

I don't think I can find one positive in this game, unless you consider Jared Allen adding to his sack total.  But personal accomplishments often fade behind a L in the W-L column.

The backfield had more green and gold in it than Purple and White.  Any and every time Ponder went back to pass, he was unable to take enough time to really read the field and then make a pass that was even close to being comfortable and not rushed.  Our offensive line is just that...offensive!  Loadholt barely had time to slap Clay Matthews on the butt as he sped past him to get in Ponder's face.  When Matthews is allowed to practically take the hand off FOR Peterson, you know he isn't being touched.  I can only imagine what McNabb was saying under his breath during the game.  Maybe, "Damn!  I am glad that ain't me getting pounded out there".  If it wasn't for Ponder's quickness and youth, he would probably be hurt right now.

Our defensive secondary, which has been our weakness for years, is now so abysmal that any team that even uses their running back against us is simply keeping their quarterback from throwing out his arm.  I saw some of the poorest coverage ever from NFL players and when they did get hold of a guy, it was briefly and usually by accident!  All I could see was a bunch of overpaid, under performing defensive backs.  I would trade them all for a Woodson...even half a Woodson.

 We don't have enough draft picks next year to do what we need to do to fix the problems.  I would hate to be Studwell this year trying to prioritize the "needs".  They are ALL needs.  I think we are safe at kicker, QB, running back, and punter.  Everything else is a need.  All I ask is that the pain that is this season goes away and maybe next year we can get our respect back.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Are the Politicians Listening?

I usually start my day off looking at the Viking Update website to see what is happening with the only important NFL Team in my world.  For those of you unfamiliar with the site, it morphed from what was a little weekly newspaper to a monthly magazine and an Internet site...all for $99/year.

Today, as I was looking at the "Forums" section, I saw a question posted by a member that read, "Who is your backup team if Vikes leave?"

I have thought of that a few times and thought maybe the Redskins, since they are local to where I am and I would be able to watch them regularly.  But I don't really like them that much.  Do I go extreme and cheer for the Packers out of animosity for the team leaving?  I don't think so...

After reading many of the remarks that stated that football life without the "Minnesota" Vikings just wouldn't be the same, I think I agree with the majority who said they would probably continue to watch the NFL because of a love for football, but not have a favorite team.  As one poster put it...as he discussed possibly following the Bears since he lives in Chicago...

"What sucks for me is that the Vikes are the ONLY team in any sport that I would call myself a true fan.  A true die hard.  Most of you know what I am talking about.  The one team where I will get a huge pit in my stomach when the lose or when the season ends.  The only team I will follow on sites like this on nearly a daily basis.  A true die hard.

I can grow to become a fan of another team like the Bears.  But the truth is, when they lose, I won't REALLY care.  I won't have that empty feeling anymore.  That is what hurts the most because it can't be replaced."


I think that about sums up how I feel about it too.  If the politicians in Minnesota saw this thread, and many like it that I have read, they would see that Minnesotans really don't want to lose the Vikings.  Most will complain about new taxes but will gladly pay it too keep them.  A politician that votes a tax to keep the Vikings will have a chance for reelection.  A politician that casts a vote that causes the Vikings to pack there bags and move to a new home...will not.


Full Forum thread:  Viking Update Forum Question

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Should Be an Interesting Year!


What can I say?  We arrive at another year...and we have another "old" quarterback.  This one, I hope, just needed a change of scenery.  I am, honestly, quite excited about us getting McNabb this year to allow Ponder some time to learn and grow.  I am sure he is going to be a great quarterback in a couple years.

This whole off season just has things in a funk.  It doesn't quite seem like the excitement level is there yet.  Don't get me wrong...I am pumped up that football is back, it just seems like things are "off" a bit.

I was sad to see Rice go away, but not Jackson.  Rice just had some health issues last year...Jackson was still having quarterbacking issues.  I do not see him leaving the Vikings and becoming a great QB like Rich Gannon did.  I still think Gannon was more of a fluke.

And then there is the whole Randy Moss thing.  I guess it is sad to see him leave the league, but he just can't seem to get his brain right when it comes to being on a "team".  The talent...WOW!...the talent...is still there.  He just can't seem to do what he is supposed to do and let the outside stuff work out right.  He will get in the HOF if all the people voting forget his "I play when I want to" mantra.

We need to get AP a new contract so he doesn't go away.  We haven't had a running back like this since Robert Smith, and he is better than Smith.  Looks like Harvin is doing well with his migraine issue...so let's hope that continues.  I watch my wife deal with them on occasion and they are not pretty.

Finally, I was glad to hear that Greenway is working on  a new contract that will hopefully keep him in Purple for his career.  He seems to have a good head on his shoulders from what I read and hear him say.  So many players get insulted when the franchise tag is placed on them.  Greenway, on the other hand, felt humbled and looks forward to working out a new contract.  He makes it obvious that it is NOT all about money.  Then again, what would you expect from a well-raised South Dakota Boy!!!

I look forward to this season, to see what sort of affect the lockout had on the players and teams.  I predict a rough start...but at least we are going to watch NFL football this year! 

SKOL VIKINGS!!!

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

The Missing Link?

Viking Land has got to be glowing purple right now after the news of Randy Moss returning to the Vikings.  I hope he is that receiver we are missing to give Favre and the Offence that push they need to relive last year.

I like Moss when he was with the Vikings before, even though he did some stupid things.  I really hope he has gotten rid of his "I play when I want to" attitude.  I haven't seen too much of the "me first" attitude over the past couple of years, so hopefully he is over that.  He can obviously still play some ball and should have some years left in him.  The only disadvantage is that he was not given a long contract, just one that takes him to the end of his current, which is one more year.  I hope that the Vikings will give him a good long contract along with Greenway.

Let's hope this is what the Vikings need.  I know I will be cheering a bit harder.  Guess I will have to go to a bar for the next game to watch.

SKOL VIKINGS!!!!!

Friday, September 10, 2010

Just Not Ready for Prime-Time


What a horrible start to the 2010 season. The Vikings just did NOT look like they were ready for the start of the season. Blame the fact that Farve was not there for the preseason, blame injuries, blame whatever. The team simply did not look like a team. The secondary was picked apart all night. I understand there were injuries back there, but the guys who played, played poorly. Corners were getting spun around out of place, linebackers were absent from plays. We allowed the Saints to move the ball at will. The offense was no better. His receivers and backs just didn't seem to be in the game. The line did a fair job of pass blocking, but not much else. We better get our stuff together soon or it is going to be a long season.